Evans Participates in Future Cities Competition

OTTUMWA— Four teams from Evans Middle School recently competed in the state level Future City Competition in Cedar Rapids. Fifty-one teams from around Iowa created 3-D scale models, gave seven minute formal presentations to engineering teams, and prepared a 1,500 word essay. This also created a virtual city presentation about the challenge theme this year, multi-use of public space.


Utlis Tractus team took an award for Most Diverse Infastructure and placed seventh overall in the competition. The eighth grade team included:  Maxwell Thomason, Meghan Coulter, Emma Weilbrenner, Meggie Parker, Ava Green, Donavan Newland, Joseph Hammer, and Steven Durr.


Espace Public team, a seventh grade team, took an award for Most Creative Use of Recycled Items and placed ninth in the competition. Team members were: Addison Ransom, Lucas Barnes, Lorna Bauer, Adam Greiner, Lyle Essary, Teagan Holman, Heidi Testa, and Nicole Sutherland.


Team Na Wahi placed 11th overall. Team members included:  Matt Grave, Parker Palmer, Thomas Mitchell, Ashely Jones, Zoey Jones, and Chelsea Spurgeon.


The final team, Multi Usage, placed 13th. Team members included:  Kaeden Inman, Emma Palm, Katy Cramblit, Kaitlyn Scott, Jesus Jaime, and Dylan Bates. All four teams were coached by Heidi Bradford, Talented and Gifted teacher for Evans Middle School.