American Red Cross Accepting Nominations for Heroes of the Heartland Breakfast

Each year the Red Cross honors heroes for their bravery, their knowledge of life-saving skills like CPR and their willingness to help others.

OTTUMWA-Do you know someone who has saved a life, made your community a safer place or gone above and beyond to help someone in need?


Each year, the American Red Cross honors individuals who have made significant and positive differences in their communities and exemplify the Red Cross mission. Heroes of the Heartland honors ordinary people whose extraordinary actions demonstrate the potential that is in all of us. Heroes are selected based on the degree to which their acts of heroism and kindness uphold the values and vision of the Red Cross.


In recent years, heroes have been recognized for saving their neighbors, performing CPR or for their outstanding work in the community.


This unique program is also the primary fundraising event to support the mission of the Red Cross in the Ottumwa area. It will be held Thursday, April 21 at the Bridge View Center from 7:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.


Please take a moment to complete the nomination form and share it with your friends. Heroism need not involve the direct saving of a life. If nominating for a heroic event, the event must have occurred between February 1, 2016 and March 15, 2017. In order to be eligible for the award nomination, the hero must live, work, or go to school in Wapello and neighboring counties.


Information about Heroes of the Heartland will also be available at the Heroes basketball game between Indian Hills Community College and Moberly Area Community College on Monday, February 6.


Submit your nomination form by March 15, 2017 via the avenue easiest for you:


Online: Heroes Nomination Form


Mail: American Red Cross

Attn: Lori Talbott

2116 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50312


Your nomination should include:

  • All of the requested contact information
  • Description explaining why your hero deserves to be recognized
  • Supporting documents such as news articles and photographs


Sponsorship opportunities are also available. For more information on how you can align your business with Heroes of Heartland, please contact Bryce Sitter at or call (515) 473-1284.


About the American Red Cross serving Greater Iowa: The Iowa Region, led by Regional Executive Leslie Schaffer, serves 96 counties in Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota. The Iowa Region includes four chapters in: Des Moines (Central Iowa serving Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clarke, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren and Wayne counties); Cedar Rapids (South and Eastern Iowa serving Benton, Black Hawk, Buchanan, Des Moines, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Marshall, Poweshiek, Tama, Van Buren and Washington counties); Dubuque (Northeast Iowa serving Allamakee, Bremer, Butler, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Jackson, Jones, Mitchell, Winneshiek and Worth counties); and Sioux City (North and Western Iowa serving Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Monona, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, Wright, Dakota, NE and Union, SD counties.)


About the American Red Cross: The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation’s blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. For more information, please visit or visit us on Twitter at @RedCross.