IHCC Students Receive Bright Scholars of Iowa Award

OTTUMWA — Twelve Indian Hills Community College students are recipients of the Bright Scholars of Iowa Award for which they will receive a full-ride academic scholarship.  The awards are funded by the Bright Foundation of Des Moines and students from Indian Hills, Southwestern Community College, Iowa State University, University of Iowa and University of Northern Iowa are eligible to compete for them.

The IHCC students receiving the scholarships include: Ryan Blakeley (Libertyville), Bailey Bland (Ottumwa), Kayla Edwards (Chariton), Curtis Ford (Ottumwa), Sydney Gibson (Moulton), Maddison Hughes (Eddyville), Maisie Hughes (Eddyville), Holly McCoy (Batavia), Kelsey McFarland (Russell), Zachary Peters (Albia), Virginia Schmidt (Sigourney) and Jessica Simons (Udell).

To be eligible for a Bright Scholars of Iowa Award, a student must be accepted by one of the five colleges or universities.  The award is renewable for up to three additional years, providing the student maintains a 2.50 cumulative GPA.  As part of the application process, the student must submit an essay describing his or her success in the face of adversity.  A summary of high school and community service activities, including leadership roles, is also required.

A total of 52 awards were given out for the 2016-17 academic year.