Drug Task Force Grant Award

OTTUMWA-The Southeast Iowa Inter-Agency Drug Task Force has been awarded $105,450 by the State of Iowa Governor’s Office of Drug Control Policy for fiscal year 2018.  The grant funds will be applied toward the cost of wages and benefits for a prosecuting attorney, a supervisor, and two investigators. This year’s award is 41 percent of what was requested.


The Drug Task Force had applied for $257,546.00 to cover 75% of the total cost of wages and benefits for task force personnel. The City of Ottumwa and Wapello County will pay the additional 25% match which totaled $48,000 and 38,000 respectively.


Federal funding for the drug task force has been reduced over the past several years. In 2012 the task force received $199,715 in funding or 89.6% of the amount requested in federal funding.  Over the last three years grant funding has been reduced 15.5 %.


Federal funding does not cover additional expenses to the task force such as overtime, cell phones, vehicles, fuel and office supplies.  These expenses are paid using forfeitures and membership fees paid by member agencies.  Member agencies include Van Buren County, Wapello County, Davis County, Keokuk County and the cities of Sigourney and Ottumwa.