Tenco 31st Annual Golf Classic Results

OTTUMWA-Sixty (60) foursomes competed in the Tenco Golf Classic on Saturday, June 17, on a mostly beautiful day at Cedar Creek Golf Course in Ottumwa.  With only a few teams left to finish, a strong storm blew through with torrential rain and strong winds. No injuries or damage was reported except for one canopy being demolished. All profits from the event, which drew 240 golfers, will assist Tenco in carrying out their mission to provide opportunities for people with disabilities to develop and maintain independence in all areas of life.


In addition to golfing, the festive day included the opportunity to win prizes at the Spinning Wheel, purchase mulligans and raffle tickets, and enjoy great brats and hotdogs, along with ice cold beverages.  The event was supported by 29 major sponsors as well as a multitude of patrons from throughout southeastern Iowa and the Midwest, who provided 26 outstanding hole prizes, as well as other gifts for the golfers at the event.


Winners in the Championship Flight were the team of Kevin Greenstreet, Nick Tippett, Dan Brice, and Brent Taylor with a score of 55.  Second place, representing Holmes-Murphy with a score of 56 was the team of Joey Pudenz, Nick Siepker, Alex Stein, and Todd Hansen.  Third place was the team of Scott Martin, Craig Wright, Kevin Tacke, and Trent Lindeman with a score of 57.


First Flight winners were the team of Kip Stuart, Kyle Woodard, Rumner, and Jake Steinbach with a score of 65.  Second place was the Hy-Vee South team of Max Dains, Ted Palmer, Jason Skinner, and Larry Coble who also shot 65.  The Third place team of John Howard, Gene Taylor, Chris Steele, and Maureen Steele shot 66.


In the Second Flight, all three of the top teams shot the same score of 71.  The winners were Scott Brobston, Tony Brobston, Matt Brobston, Don Brobston.  Second place was the Community 1st Credit Union team of Wes Krenz, Nick Simmons, Jason Danielson, Sean Slattery.  Coming in Third was the Vaughn Automotive team of Phil Davis, Bob Meinders, Mike Heffernan, and Tom Stanek.


Hole Prize winners included Austin Gage (longest putt on #1), Brent Taylor (closest to the pin on #3), Jeremy Sims (closest to the bunker on #6, without going in), Todd Hansen (closest to the pin on #6), Codie Amason (woman’s longest drive on #9), Chris Goodwin (longest putt on #11), Jim Fenner (closest to the pin on #15), Tim Guiter (men’s longest drive on #16), and Darryl Friedenstab (longest putt on #17).


It should be noted that Brent Taylor hit a hole-in-one on #3. Unfortunately, this is the hole just before the free car hole-in-one. It is still impressive to make this feat and it was his first one ever. Great job Brent!


Brent Taylor with the ball that made his hole-in-one shot on #3.


“This outstanding event just further demonstrates the wonderful support Tenco gets from its staff and community,” commented Cheryl Plank, Executive Director. “From before the sun was up until the time it went down, our staff, board members, and friends volunteered their time to do everything that needed to be done. It was so heartwarming to see such support and dedication.”


Tenco is truly grateful to all the golfers, sponsors, and volunteers for their friendship and support in this big event. It takes a lot of work and hands to make this a success. There were over 100 volunteers throughout the day working all the areas needed and made the event run smooth. It was fun day for all. Tenco is fortunate to have so many folks they can call friends.