ORHC Welcomes Orthopedic Surgeon Nathan Nicholson, MD

Ottumwa native returns home to practice orthopedic and sports medicine

OTTUMWA-Ottumwa Regional Health Center is pleased to welcome Nathan Nicholson, MD. A native of Ottumwa, Dr. Nicholson is returning to his hometown and joining Dr. Scott and the team at Ottumwa Orthopedics.

 

“My family and I are excited to be in Ottumwa,” said Dr. Nicholson. “Growing up in Ottumwa taught me the value of family, hard work and being a good neighbor.  The lessons I learned from my family and the support I received from my community gave me the tools I needed to become an orthopedic surgeon.”

 

After graduating from Ottumwa High School, Dr. Nicholson attended the University of Iowa, earning his Bachelor of Science in Integrative Physiology. He continued his education at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine completing his medical degree with a Research Distinction. This spring he completed his residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Department of Orthopaedic Surgery.

 

“I first met Dr. Nicholson when he was in high school,” said Dr. Berg, surgeon with Berg Orthopedics. “He visited my office and observed surgery with me. I could see right away he was very interested and that he wanted to do this kind of work. Throughout his education I stayed in contact with him and I always hoped he would come back to his hometown to practice. The community will benefit greatly from having him practice here.”

 

Dr. Nicholson is experienced in all aspects of orthopedic surgery including joint replacement, arthroscopic surgery, rehabilitation and sports medicine.  He began seeing patients July 31, 2017. To schedule an appointment call 641-684-2684.