Ottumwa Students Chosen for SEIBA Honor Band

OTTUMWA— Two Ottumwa band students were selected to participate in the Southeast Iowa Bandmasters Association Honor Band. Congratulations to eighth graders Arin McMullin and Annie Barrios for being selected.  They will travel to Iowa City West High School on January 20 to rehearse and then perform in the annual concert.

A total of seven middle and high school students auditioned in Fairfield on Saturday, January 6. Students who auditioned included:  Dominic Gerleman, Levi Tschetter, Arin McMullin, Courtney Beal, and Annie Barrios, Evans; and Jordyn Halgren and Valerie McNeese, OHS. Students from across the southeast Iowa district prepared two selections and numerous scales.

“The competition was stiff,” said Pam De Boer, Evans band teacher. “Kudos to our students for taking on this challenge!”