November Elections Mean Major Changes to Ottumwa School Board

Familiar Faces Grab Victories in City Council Race

OTTUMWA – The seven person board of the Ottumwa Community School District will soon be seeing a big shake up when five new members take their seats.  Only two of those open seats were being sought after by incumbents, Leisa Walker, Board President, and Jon Bunt.  However, neither Walker nor Bunt were able to claim victory against the group of five new faces.  Four of the seats hold a four year term and a pool of 12 candidates were all vying for those positions.  They were won by David Weilbrenner, Morgan Brown, Brian Jones, and Christina Schark.  The fifth and final position holds a two year term and went to Jeremy Weller.  Weller beat out two other candidates for the shorter termed seat.


Ottumwa City Council elections were also held on Tuesday, November 5th.  Two seats were up for grabs and each was won by a familiar face.  Incumbent Marc Roe was able to hold on to his seat in what was a four person race for those two seats.  Bob Meyers will be filling the other open position.  He is not new to the council, having served three consecutive terms in the past.  After a break for a few years, his run for office was met with much success as he received the most votes out of the four candidates.