OHS Science Club Competing in Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge

OTTUMWA— The Ottumwa High School Science Club was recently selected as one of 300 finalists in the Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge. Over 2,000 schools in the United States were competing in the challenge.


OHS is one of five schools in Iowa selected to move onto the next round, which will end on December 4. State finalists will be announced on December 23.


Club members were to identify a problem in their school or community and use STEM to solve the issue. The group identified safety as their main area of concern and wanted to devise a safe way for students with physical limitations (wheel chairs, crutches and walkers) to exit the building quickly and safely from any floor or staircase. As they move into the next round, they will gather data and develop a device/structure that will address the identified issue. Science Club members include: Adianna Wasson, Tina McCoy, Janelle Eskew, Andrea Fransisco, Carter Kendrick, Lorena Morales, Milca Morales, Bladen Reinier, Levi Tschetter, Drew Wilbanks, Cera Stroh, and Katie Stroh.  Science Club sponsors are Heather Swanstrom and Summer Teed.