Ottumwa Community School District Announces 2020 Retirees

OTTUMWA—The Ottumwa Community School District wants to recognize this year’s 17 retirees. Together, they have 442 total years of service to students in Ottumwa. “Congratulations on your retirement and thank you for your years of service, hard work, and dedication,” said Superintendent Nicole Kooiker. “We appreciate everything you have done for our students, families, and community over the years.  Please take time to enjoy the things in life that you haven’t had time to enjoy.”


The 2020 retirees include: Heather Fogle, kindergarten teacher, Douma;.Carla Heisdorffer, English/language arts teacher, Evans; Sandra Hendred, ELL teacher, Horace Mann/James; Terry Loy, special education teacher, Evans; Kathie Mason, kindergarten teacher, Douma; Kevin McGinity, science teacher, Ottumwa High School; Toby Mitchell, district truant officer; Jim Nickerson, physical education teacher, Ottumwa High School; Julie Olson, special education teacher, Evans; and Heidi Owens, kindergarten teacher, Horace Mann. Also Emily Penner, first grade teacher, Horace Mann; Barbara Proctor, teacher associate, Wilson; Rick Reinier, JROTC instructor, Ottumwa High School; Sherrie Roberts, special education teacher, Evans; Joni Rodgers, curriculum and instructional leader, Liberty; Moya Sheehy, third grader teacher, Liberty; Jimmy Stevens, special education teacher, Ottumwa High School; and Greg Sines, district maintenance staff.